The Chewiest and Gooiest Muffin Tutorial

DSC_0179

In this crazy world we all need something that allows us to escape and just be happy. I have learned so much about my own happiness this year. Food is a big part of it. Food is it. My escape. Experimenting with recipes, mixing ingredients together, and currently challenging myself as a vegan consumer. I’m not happy everyday. Nobody is happy every single day. That is why we need our escape. Hold onto that escape forever because it will keep you grounded, keep you thinking and allow you to grow and strengthen every day.

For me, today, at this moment I am living each day based on what makes me happy. And today, muffins made me happy.

Here is a tutorial on how to make my super CHEWY and GOOEY peanut butter and coconut stuffed banana chocolate chip muffins!

[Baker satisfaction guaranteed]

 

Begin by making one “flax egg” (1 tbsp flax powder and 3 tbsp water) and set aside.Image

In a medium-sized bowl mash one banana and add 2 tbsp pure REAL (local if you can) maple syrup.

Image

In a large bowl add 1 cup sprouted whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup almond flour and 1 tsp cinnamon. Then dump banana mixture on top. Image

 

Mix together. Then mix in the “flax-egg”.Image

Mix in 1/3 cup almond milk.

Image

I made homemade dark chocolate the other day, so I crushed a couple chunks up by putting them in a plastic bag and smashing them with a coffee mug, and add them to the mixture–about 1/2 cup (You can use any chocolate you want!)ImageImage

Mix mix mix!

Image

And set aside.

Image

Now for the filling! Mix together 1 cup peanut butter (I use organic and all natural creamy), 1 tbsp coconut and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I heated it up in the microwave for about 30 seconds. Set aside.Image

Place about 1 spoonful of muffin mixture into each muffin tin (so it is about half full). Image

Then place a small dollop of the peanut butter mixture on top.ImageImage

 

Finish off with more of the muffin mixture. Pick up and drop on the counter a couple times so the mixture evens out a bit. (I had enough to make 8 muffins). Stick in the oven on 400 degrees F for about 20 to 25 minutes!

ImageImageImageImage

Steaming hot, right from the oven! SO gooey.ImageImageImageImageImage

 

**They will stick to the muffin papers if you try to eat one right out of the oven (I did it anyway). But after a couple hours they don’t stick anymore. They are DIVINE on day two. The soft and moist texture of the bottom layer combined with the gooey peanut butter in the middle AND the soft yet chewy top is an unbeatable combo.

 

Good luck and Find Joy!

 

Leave a Reply

