Food is Color Blind

You aren’t what you eat, you are what you feel. So eat well, to feel good, that way you can be GREAT. There is nothing worse than feeling like crap because you ate crap.

For a long time, I have seen food as black and white, good and bad, nutritious and not nutritious. It took me a while, but I am finally starting to figure it out. Food is not black and white. Food is color blind. When some people look at a pomegranate they see a strange fruit that takes forever to open and de-seed, and the seeds have tiny pits in them and “do I spit them out? or do I swallow them? Are they even good for me?”. When I see a pomegranate I see hundreds of tiny seeds full with juicy antioxidants. I imagine taking a large knife and cutting the beautiful fruit in half and sitting at the kitchen counter de-seeding and relaxing de-seeding a beautiful fruit so that I can use the seeds for breakfast or salad later. 

Food used to make me fat or make me skinny. It was a constant battle. If I eat all of these I know I will feel sick later, but it is going to taste so good right now. I will go to the gym for longer tomorrow. Never makes it to the gym at all….

I don’t eat to feel full anymore, I eat for the pure pleasure of creating something beautiful and unique and enjoying it. Not everybody wants to be like that, and I understand that, but I think if we could all have a greater appreciation and sense of understanding towards food, we could all embrace a healthier and more indulgent relationship with the fuel that makes us grow, function and succeed. 

Last night I took ingredients out of the fridge and just put them on a big cutting board. I had guacamole in mind for dinner. So, I got a couple avocados, a pear, limes, lemons, pistachios, salt, pepper, some coriander and garlic. Probably not the typical ingredients for guacamole. I also didn’t really have a plan for what I was going to eat this guacamole with, but remember that food is colorblind. There is no specific foods that have to go together all the time and there are no specific boundaries or limitations to cooking and creating strange foods and wacky recipes. Pear and pistachio guacamole was for dinner last night, on a bed of spinach, topped with red quinoa, the bizarre guac surrounded with an array of veggies and a dollop of homemade hummus. 

When we let our guard down and do something out of the ordinary, I guarantee most of the time you will thank yourself for trying a new approach. Food is colorblind, but you are not, so don’t be afraid to be smarter than the food and try something totally different!

 

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

