Omega 3’s for the Win!

Image

Smoked salmon is one of my favorite foods, but sometimes there is only so much you can do with it. Bagels, lox, cream cheese and capers.

You can’t go wrong there, but when you don’t have all the necessary ingredients at home sometimes you have to mix things up a bit. The other day I was sitting in my apartment with limited lunch options when I came across salmon, whole wheat wraps and cream cheese. A salmon wrap I thought? I had never used smoked salmon in a wrap before, but I was hungry and becoming desperate. So this is what I did…..

Image

Image

Image

Image

It was delightful. Simple but delightful. I also threw some capers on there, which you may not be able to see. And nothing better than a side of banana chips to cure that crunch craving. In my opinion not a bad lunch for a broke college student who was all out of fresh fruits and veggies. Omega 3’s for the win!

Fun fact about omega 3 fatty acids, which I just recently learned in my bio chem class–they help with many mental and brain dysfunctions–a big one being ADD/ADHD. In general omega 3’s aid in brain development and function, but I found it interesting when my professor said that increasing omega 3’s in one’s diet may actually help reduce symptoms of some brain disorders. Cool huh? Omega 3’s also play a large role in decreasing inflammation as well as some chronic illnesses such as heart disease.

I found it very comforting to know that my spur of the moment lazy-day lunch turned out to be  a wonderful snack for my hopefully well-functioning brain!

check out more omega 3 info! http://www.umm.edu/altmed/articles/omega-3-000316.htm

Leave a Reply

