Pancake Pandemonium

I was going to go to bed, I really was, until I realized it was Saturday, I am all hyped up on chocolate and wine, watching my 9 week old puppy sleep is so much more entertaining, and I thought now would be a perfect time to blog about my pancake pandaemonium I had this week. Pandemonium may not be the proper word, but it creates a basis for a juicier and more ambitious pancaking experience. Let me break it all down for you…

Day 1: Chocolate Chip, strawberry, blueberry pancakes

Day 2: Raspberry Pancakes, Blueberry Pancakes, Blackberry pancakes, plain pancakes, burnt pancakes…

Day 1 was a success, or so I thought, until I overheard my dad chatting with my mom downstairs later that day. It went something like this “Those pancakes were really good this morning, but they definitely would have been better without the chocolate chips”. “How ruuuude”, I thought. Honestly, who doesn’t like chocolate chips in their pancakes? A chocolate chip pancake is heavenly. It is like dessert breakfast. And then you add strawberries and blueberries into the mix and its like –I am trying really hard to be healthy but I am still totally a dessert pancake and somebody is eating me for breakfast.

Day 2, my friend Adelle was visiting, and let me start by saying she does everything right. Its like she places her foot into my house and “VA BAM” miracles happen. She sells all of my books back that have been sitting in my garage for 2 years and makes a hundred bucks off of them in two days, she finds my mom’s bag of coupons that has been missing for a week, and she even perfects my pancakes.

It turns out I had been cooking my pancakes on “high”, with an overly intense batter to butter ratio, and I flipped my pancakes about eleven too many times, creating a smooshed and slightly undercooked pancake (if you could even call it that). Apparently, if you cook your pancakes on high the entire time, not only do they BURN, the inside does not cook. If you have too much batter and not enought butter on the pan, the pancakes BURN, and the insides don’t cook. And, if you flip them too many times–well I never did understand why you can’t flip them as many times as you want, but I think it has something to do with the insides not cooking.

With much practice and much creativity, I think Adelle and I may have perfected not only the raspberry pancake, but the raspberry-blueberry pancake as well, and I hope never to return to my shameful, burnt, and undercooked pancaking days. I hope to, possibly tomorrow, re-attempt the birth of the perfect chocolate chip pancake, as soon as I purchase a bag of whole wheat flour 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pancake Pandemonium

  1. Great post : ) Reminds me of my first pancake-making experience, which ended with a lot of inedible, undercooked pieces of dough. So much harder than it seems. Have you ever tried nutella pancakes? Definitely a must for chocolate lovers.

Leave a Reply

